The Melvins have announced the details of their first full album as a quartet since 2010's The Bride Screamed Murder. Joining Buzz Osborne and Dale Crover this time round are Butthole Surfers' guitarist Paul Leary and bassist JD Pinkus.

The 12 track album entitled Hold It In will be released via Ipecac Records on 13th October

Commenting on the new album, Buzz Osborne had the following to say - "Hold It In is a refreshing piece of fiction in a boring world of fact and bullsh*t. Paul is one of the best guitar players I have ever heard and Pinkus has an outside the box type of approach to both guitar and bass that you just have to let it ride. I can't believe this actually happened. I'm thrilled."

The band spent the early part of this year putting together and recording in Los Angeles and Austin.


(Photo credit: Mackie Osborne)