The new Pearl Jam album is due out this May. It has been produced by Adam Kasper, best known for his work with Soundgarden, and is out on May 1.

The self-titled LP was recorded in Seattle and follows 2002's 'Riot Act'.

Guitarist Stone Gossard has described it as: "A couple of rock songs, a couple of ballads, it's not rocket science."

The new record has seen Pearl Jam collaborate together more than on any of their previous albums, with each member receiving writing credits.

You don't have to wait long to get your hands on the first taste of their new material, as the first single will be 'World Wide Suicide', and will be available as a free download on March 8 through the band's website

Pearl Jam will begin a world tour this spring, details to be announced later this month. They're one of many names being rumoured for this year's Carling Weekend, which is yet to be revealed.

The tracklist for 'Pearl Jam' is:

'Life Wasted'
'World Wide Suicide'
'Severed Hand'
'Marker In The Sand'
'Big Wave'
'Wasted Reprise'
'Army Reserve'
'Come Back'
'Inside Job'